Ice-Skating Penguins

In order to get this blog going and to give you an impression of my “work” (and also to familiarize myself with WordPress), I decided to share a couple of my “old projects” first… I hope you will like it. Also: please excuse the poor quality of my photos!

One of the first cards I ever made was the Ice-Skating Penguins card. When a childhood-friend of mine got married in January 2015, I wanted to give her and her new husband a card that came from the heart: I love penguins (they are my absolutely favourite animals) and I like ice-skating.

For this card, I used Lawn Fawn’s Winter Penguin and its coordinating dies. I stamped two penguins, so that I could have one male and one female. For colouring, I used Copic markers: black and orange for the body and beak respectively, the male penguin’s scarf is from the colour family BG (blue green) and the female penguin’s scarf is from the colour family BV (blue violet) – unfortunately, I did not write down the colour numbers and names…

From white cardstock, I cut an oval shape and stamped the “congrats” sentiment from Lawn Fawn’s So Much To Say in Memento dye ink (I believe the colour is Lilac Posies). Underneath, I took the heart from Winter Penguin and stamped it twice. I cut the penguins with the coordinating dies and placed them as though they had made the hearts while ice-skating. To make it more of a wedding card, I drew a top-hat by hand, I cut it out with scissors and left a little white border to go along with the style of the penguins. For the female penguin, I originally wanted to create a veil, but it did not turn out well. So, I decided to make it simple and put a ribbon out of white twine on her head.

I assembled the card on brown cardstock and for a little colour, I added a blue strip across the base. The penguins are adhered with foam tape to make them stand out.

This concludes my very first wedding card. :-) I hope you enjoyed it.
Have a nice day!

Leave a Reply

