Clinking Tea Mugs

When I was still working at my previous company, my supervisor and dear colleague got promoted. Usually one would celebrate by opening a bottle of champagne or sparkling wine and by clinking champagne glasses. But since that company was British and we all were (and actually still are) avid tea drinkers, I thought it would be fun to make a card where tea mugs clink together.

Clinking Mugs

For this promotion card, I used the stamp set Love You a Latte from Lawn Fawn. I stamped one of the mugs and the tea bag in Memento Tuxedo Black. For the second mug, I used the Mirror Stamping Technique that I learned from Chari Moss. Since the stamping of this mug was not as crisp as the first one, I traced it with Copic Multiliner.

I also stamped the tea bag to match the first mug. I coloured the mugs with Copic markers in the colour family G (green). I used the coordinating die to die-cut the first mug; I fuzzy cut the second mug and left a thin white border.

On a stripe of coloured cardstock, I placed letters from Lawn Fawn’s Quinn’s ABCs to make the greeting “congrats”.

I adhered the greeting to a white card base and put foam tape on the mugs to give them some dimension. To indicate that the mugs are clinking together I drew three straight lines above them with Copic Multiliner.

This card is very simple but I think that the bold colour of the greeting makes it interesting and the mugs make a great inside joke.

I hope you enjoyed this card.
Have a nice day!

Leave a Reply

