Steaming Mug

I love tea and mugs and, therefore, the stamp set Love You a Latte from Lawn Fawn was a must-have for me. It was actually one of the first stamp sets I bought and to date it is one of my most used. A lot of my friends and family members have their birthdays in the cold seasons – and this is probably why I use Love You a Latte so often. It expresses warmth and coziness and is just really good for autumn and winter cards.

Steaming Mugs

For the birthday cards, I stamped a tall mug and one of the lower mugs and the saucer in Memento Tuxedo Black. For colouring, I used COPIC markers in the colour family B (blue) and G (green) for the mugs and saucers and in the colour family E (earth) for the tea. I used the coordinating dies to cut them out.

I die-cut scalloped ovals from white cardstock and stamped the sentiment “warm wishes” from the Love You a Latte set in Memento Tuxedo Black. I adhered the mugs with foam tape to give them a little dimension; the saucers are glued with regular liquid glue.

The background is Lawn Fawn’s Argyle Backdrop in Memento ink (Bahama Blue and Pear Tart). You may notice how splotchy the background is. I used cheap white cardstock and did not think how the (bad) quality of the paper can influence the stamping… But it did not bother me too much, especially after I received feedback on these cards. I learned that it does not have to be perfect. The important thing is that I made someone happy :-).

I finished the cards with thin stripes of coloured cardstock to serve as frames to the Argyle Backdrop.

I hope you enjoyed this. Have a nice day!

Leave a Reply

