January Birthday Cards

Since a lot of friends and family have their birthdays in December/January, I am quite busy making cards around this time of year. I do not want to post every single card that I have made but I would like to showcase two cards that are particularly dear to me.

I find this one very adorable:

For this card, I used one of the mugs and sentiment from Love You A Latte and the critters from Toboggan Together. I made it look as though the penguin brings the deer a mug of hot chocolate – careful little penguin, don’t trip!
I made the background with Distress Inks by applying the colour (I believe it was “Tumbled Glass”) with an ink blending tool and stamping the falling snow from Lawn Fawn’s Snow Cool with white pigment ink. I die-cut two of the Stitched Hillside Borders to have ground for the critters. The sentiment was stamped with Versafine ink (Onyx Black) and I heat embossed it with black embossing powder.

The next card is very simple but I used a technique that I have not used before: foiling.

For this card I used the penguin from Winter Penguin, pattern paper from the 6×6 paper pad Perfectly Plaid Winter and the sentiment is from Scripty Sayings (all by Lawn Fawn).
I stamped the sentiment with Versamark ink and heat embossed with Ranger’s Sticky Embossing Powder. After heat embossing, I immediately placed a piece of Deco Foil Transfer Sheet in colour Teal onto the heat embossed area. At first, I lightly tapped the foil and then I traced the entire sentiment with my finger, so that the foil is stuck. I placed this in my die-cutting machine like I would when die-cutting with a die (just without the die). When running this through the die-cutting machine, the machine presses the foil onto the adhesive. I, then, gently removed the transfer sheet to reveal the foiled sentiment:

Unfortunately, it took me a couple of times until I got this technique right. In the end I was happy with the result and I look forward to doing this technique again.

Thank you for stoppying by! I hope you have a nice day!

2 thoughts on “January Birthday Cards

  1. such lovely cards (as all yours are!) – will read up more when there is more time, just wanted to leave a quick comment about how much I adore your cards and I appreciate sharing how you do them :) Is it ok if I send the link to a good friend of mine who is also enganging in crafting? Looking forward to reading more from you and hope to see you soon, A.

    Like

Leave a Reply

