Party Balloon Shaker Card

I decided to be part of Lawn Fawnatics, the Lawn Fawn Challenge Blog. Currently, challenge #2 is running: interactive cards! I have planned to make a shaker card for some time now, but I never dared to do it. Now is my chance.

For this card I used Lawn Fawn’s Party Balloons and Scripty Sayings and the sequins in the shaker part is the Spring Sequin Mix from Neat & Tangled.

First, I placed the party balloons to see which of the ballons I would like to have on my card. I decided that the big balloon will be the shaker area and it will be surrounded by smaller balloons. For the shaker area, I cut two sheets of fun foam to match the size of my front panel. I placed the big balloon die on my front panel where I want it and ran it through my die-cut machine. I did the same with the fun foam using my front panel as a guide. Since two sheets of fun foam were too thick for my Cuttlebug, I had to run each sheet separately. I adhered the fun foam together with strong double-sided tape and glued that to my card base. I put the sequins in the shaker area and closed it with a piece of acetate.

I die-cut the smaller ballons from coloured cardstock that match the colour of the sequins. I stamped the sentiment “happy birthday to you” (without the “to you”-part) from the stamp set Scripty Sayings as the string for the big balloon. I used the loopy strings from the other sentiments in this stamp set to stamp the strings for the other balloons. I adhered this panel onto the fun foam with strong double-sided tape.

This concludes my very first shaker card. I admit I was not very happy with it because I made a couple of mistakes while making this card (I hope they are not noticeable…). But I am glad that I finally found the courage to do it.

I posted a photo of this card on my old Pinterest page and linked it to the Lawn Fawnatics site.

Thank you for stopping by! Have a nice day!

Leave a Reply

