Cosmos Cards

Hello everyone! After some very busy weeks, I have finally found the time to post again… I played around with two new(er) stamp sets by Lawn Fawn (Out of this World and Upon a Star) and I would like to share with you a couple of cards with the cosmos as the main theme.

For the backgrounds on all of these cards, I used Distress Inks. With my ink blending tool, I started off the edge of the paper and applied the ink in circular motions. The colours I used are Salty Ocean (blue), Seedless Preserve (purple) and Black Soot (black) because I think that they create a nice night sky.

Outer space cards

Using the Out of this World stamp set, I stamped some images in Memento Tuxedo Black and coloured them with my Copic markers. The stamp set includes all planets (even Pluto, though it is no longer considered a “planet”) but I just randomly picked a couple for my cards. Also, I could have coloured the planets in their “true” colours to make them more accurate but I wanted to make my cards colourful and use the Copic markers that I have at hand. I die-cut all images with their coordinating dies.

For the second card, I used the same images and also coloured them in the same way. Only the sentiment is different; I used “today the world revolves around you” on this one.

Star-gazing critters

With the Upon a Star stamp set I made a couple of cards with star-gazing critters:

I stamped the smaller bunny and the smaller fox from the stamp set, so that the starry sky would make up most of the card. I coloured them with Copic marker as well and die-cut them with the coordinating dies. The grass for the critters to sit on is created with green cardstock and Lawn Fawn’s Grassy Border.

I used the MISTI tool to help me stamp the star constellations. I secured the Distress inked background into my MISTI with magnets and placed the star constellations on my card to see where I would like to stamp them. Once I was happy with the placement, I closed the MISTI door, so that the stamps are picked up by the tool. I, then, covered the stamps in Lawn Fawn Yeti ink, which is a white pigment ink that shows on dark coloured backgrounds. To fill in some “empty” space between the constellations, I added some of the single stars included in the stamp set.


On the first card I totally forgot to place the sentiment and added it after I had stamped the star constellations. For the others, I simply made room in the upper left corner.

On the first card that I made, I wanted to make the stars sparkle a little bit and added clear Wink of Stella to them (unfortunately, this is really hard to capture on camera). Even though I like the sparkle, it did not look as cool as I thought it would and so, I did not do it for the other cards.

I really like how gorgeous these cards turned out. However, next time I will most probably heat emboss the stars and the star constellations with white (or silver or even gold) embossing powder to make them stand out even more.

I hope you enjoy this! Thank you for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

