Plane and Simple Congrats

Because I was not able to participate in the last Lawn Fawnatics challenge, I was determined to submit a card for their current challenge: watercolour.

I thought that the watercolour theme is perfect for the Plane and Simple stamp set by Lawn Fawn as watercolours can be used to create beautiful sky backgrounds. My card for today will be a congratulation card for my brother-in-law and his wife who are expecting their second child in July. Oh, and my brother-in-law is a pilot :-).

To create the first watercolour background, I took Tim Holtz Watercolour Cardstock and used Distress Inks to make a blue sky. Since Distress Ink reacts with water, I took advantage of this property to make some “clouds” (or rather: bright spots) in the sky. After the panel was dry, I took a piece of paper towel, crumpled it in my hand and wet it with water. I dabbed this paper towel on random places on the panel. The water, then, reacts with the Distress ink and sort of “removes” the colour.

In addition to this blue panel, I looked for colour combinations of the sky at sunset. I found one colour combination on Pinterest that I really liked: Salty Ocean (blue), Seedless Preserves (violet), Picked Raspberry (pink), Mustard Seed (yellow). I made a second panel using these colours.

I stamped the images from the stamp set in Versafine ink (colour: Onyx Black) on Tim Holtz Watercolour Cardstock. In order to get a softer look and to stay consistent with the watercolour theme, I also used Distress Inks to colour these images. The images were then die-cut with their coordinating dies.

I took the biggest rectangle of Lawn Fawn’s Small Stitched Rectangle Stackables, placed it on my panels individually and ran them through my die-cut machine. I, then, glued the clouds with liquid glue onto the panel and adhered the plane and the sky-writing (i.e. the heart-shaped cloud) with foam tape.
I took the sentiment from Penelope’s Blossoms, an older stamp set by Lawn Fawn, and stamped it in Versafine ink (colour: Onyx Black) to match the images.
The card base measures 4.25 x 5.5 inches (the unfolded card measures 5.5 x 8.5 inches, the score line is at 4.25 inches).

Here is the blueish Plane and Simple card (please click on the image to enlarge):

And this is the pinkish Plane and Simple card (please click on the image to enlarge):

Depending on the sex of the baby, I will either hand out the blueish or the pinkish card :-).

Thank you for stopping by!
Have a nice day!

One thought on “Plane and Simple Congrats

  1. Beautiful card design! I love the fabulous watercolor skies you created! Great idea to have one in pink and another in blue! Thanks for sharing with us at Lawn Fawnatics!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

