Cool Penguins

I have used the penguins from Penguins in Paradise by My Favorite Things only on one card so far and I really wanted to use them again. And this time, I wanted to place them in a tropical scene. While I had my watercolour supplies out for the cards that I made for the last Lawn Fawnatics challenge, I created some backgrounds that showed a tropical sunset.

I made these penguin cards during the heat wave and I feel a little “cooler” now:

For all these backgrounds, I used Tim Holtz Watercolour Cardstock and Distress Inks. I googled images of “tropical sunset” and found very beautiful skies with hues of yellow, orange, red and violet. Luckily, I also found a pin on Pinterest where someone had done such a colour combination with Distress Inks: Mustard Seed (yellow), Barn Door (red), Spiced Marmelade (orange), and Seedless Preserves (violet).

I stamped the penguins and some props from the Penguins in Paradise stamp set in Memento Tuxedo Black and coloured them with my Copic markers. Usually, I would take black (Copic colour 100) to colour the penguins but I decided to go for a dark shade of grey (Copic colour N6) instead – I really like how it turned out. After colouring, all of these images were cut with their coordinating dies.

As far as the watercolour backgrounds are concerned, I took the biggest rectangle of Lawn Fawn’s Small Stitched Rectangle Stackables, placed it on the panels individually and ran them through my die-cutting machine.
The beach, i.e. the ground for the penguins to stand on, was created with some Distress Ink (I think the colour was Scattered Straw) and water and the Simple Stitched Hillside Borders from Lawn Fawn.

The sentiments were all stamped with Versafine ink in colour Onyx Black. The phrases “Cheers” and “Hope your day is as cool as you are” are from the Penguins in Paradise stamp set. The “You deserve to be celebrated” and “You’re even cooler than you were last year” are from the stamp set Twice the Wishes by My Favorite Things.

Here is a close-up look of the “cool” penguins cards (please click on the respective image to enlarge):

I hope you enjoyed this and may have even inspired you to create – or to take a holiday :-)

Thank you for stopping by!
Have a nice day!

Leave a Reply

